Food

Vegan Substitutes for Baking and Cooking

I love baking, but I don’t love that it is very hard (and sometimes expensive!) to find the right vegan ingredients for the recipe you are trying. So I made this little cheat sheet of what I use in replacements of eggs, milk and butter.

EGGS:

1 egg = 1 mashed banana
I use bananas a lot in baking muffin or brownies, but they can also be used in cakes, it just makes it a bit heavier.

1 egg = ¼ cup pureed tofu
I always buy the silken tofu for this, and use a ¼ cup measure to scoop out the tofu, then blend it in a processor; if you don’t you could get chunks in your finished dish. This is good for cakes and lighter recipes.

1 egg = 1 fruit pureed
I have done this in a pinch, when I didn’t have bananas. Blueberries work ok, as well as any fruit really, although I find the banana to work the best to bind.

1 egg = 2 tablespoons of corn starch or baking soda + 2 tablespoons water
If you have either of these ingredients on hand, they can also work well in recipes.

2 eggs = 1 can soda
I personally have never tried this, but I have seen it in quite a few recipes as a replacement. This is supposed to work very well cakes.

MILK:

This one is pretty easy; I use soy milk a lot in cooking but you could use almond milk, rice milk or even coconut milk, depending on how you want the flavours to come out.

Note: When making a prepared dish (like a package of noodles), and it calls for 1 cup of water and 1 cup of milk, if you don’t have any milk you can replace with more water. The only difference is the result won’t be as creamy.

BUTTER:

I usually don’t use butter (or a replacement) in any recipe, especially not in every day cooking. But, if a dessert recipe calls for butter, I normally replace using coconut oil. You could use any oil you want really and replace the same amount of butter for the oil. However coconut oil, for me, is the perfect texture to replace butter with.

One thought on “Vegan Substitutes for Baking and Cooking

  1. One website I saw suggested replacing 1 egg with 1 tbsp of ground flax meal and 1 tbsp water. It makes a sticky paste that is great for binding ingredients and it doesn’t weight the batter down the way applesauce does. It’s also very healthy!

    Like

Share your thoughts!

