Beauty

Making The Change To All-Natural Body Products

I wanted to share my experience in case there is anyone else out there who is pondering the change to all-natural products. Hopefully this will convince you to make the change, or at least give you some inspiration.

As well, if you have really dry skin or you feel your face won’t clear up no matter what you try, try going natural for a week or two and see if anything changes.

I’ve been doing my own skin care for a while now, and really love it. My skin is so used to it, if I have to use store bought products my skin dries out, gets itchy and irritated. Even with the products that are more “natural” in stores, it really shows what the chemicals can do to your skin after a period of deprivation.

The products I use on my face are usually oil based – olive oil, coconut oil, almond oil. If you’ve never heard of the oil cleansing method, this is basically the principle behind it: You can’t clean oil with water, oil cleans oil. The oil on your skin gets cleaned away better with the oil and doesn’t dry out the skin.

Oil Cleansing Method
To do the oil cleansing method, take one or two oils (I usually use olive oil), mix together and rub in your hands to warm and massage on your face for about 10 minutes. This will remove any makeup you might have on, and massaging longer will penetrate deeper and clear pores.
Heat a washcloth under hot water and place over your face until you feel the cloth starting to get cool. Repeat this step 3 or 4 times, leaving on each time until it cools.
You don’t need to rub the cloth on your skin, the steaming works quite well.
I would only do this once or twice a week since it can really dry out the skin if done consistently.

However, you can still use the oils to quick wash your face, just don’t steam it everyday.

For body wash, I normally use a scrub. I usually make a batch of the Citrus Face & Body Scrub because I use it both on my body and my face, and the citrus really helps to control blemishes and red spots. The other scrubs work well too, I’ve just been stuck on this one for a while. (And I’m currently using the Chocolate Scrub – it smells, and looks, like chocolate cake! And it seems to be doing okay for my face, no big breakouts or irritation.)

Anyways, whatever scrub I’m using for the day, I scoop out a bit from the jar and put in another small bowl. The reason for this is when you’re in the shower reaching in the bowl to get a handful, all the water on your hands runs into the bowl. If that happens to your jar of scrub, it would ruin it and make it very watery.

I used to put the scrub on before I got into the shower, wait 5 or 10 minutes then jump in and rinse off. But I tried just putting in on like a normal shower gel, and it seems to work just as well. I also wash my face while in the shower, and I usually massage the scrub in until a lot of the sugar has started to dissolve, then I rinse off.

It doesn’t take that much effort to go with natural products, but the payoff is worth it. My skin is softer than it’s ever been, and I never use body lotion. And it’s still soft by night, which I’ve never experienced using a body lotion. I always have to reapply it to retain the smoothness. As I’m writing this, I rubbed my arm and it feels silky soft and I got out of the shower 7 hours ago. Which doesn’t seem that long but compared to any store-bought product the difference is huge. Using natural products has really helped to keep the moisture in my skin and keep it from drying out.

Going natural really isn’t a huge change, but it can take a bit of getting used to. Remembering that you need to have a batch of body wash before you can shower can be tough. But if you’re really into it, you’ll like making your scrubs and washes, and it won’t be hard to remember, it will just be fun to make.

You can also make your own deodorant, toner, moisturizer, even toothpaste. I think I’ll do those in future posts as the above information was the easiest and first change that I made.

Good luck! And even if you don’t want to go completely natural, trying making a batch of the scrubs: It’s nice to have a treat around when you want a pampering day.

Share your thoughts!

