Food

Very Simple Vegan Chili!

I love chili. Especially good chili. It reminds me of home and love and.. delicious-ness!
My mom makes a wonderful veggie chili, but I think mine is pretty great too!

Veggie Chili:
You don’t have to follow this recipe exactly – I usually change it around to whatever I have that day. And yesterday, I happened to have the following ingredients:
Just an FYI, I have a small crock pot, so you can double this for a bigger crock pot!

  • 1 cup dry kidney beans, Cooking Dried Beans, or use 1 can kidney beans
  • 2 onions
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 1 jar tomato sauce
  • 1 pkg. “Ground Round” – you don’t need this, I’ve made it many times without it

I normally don’t add spice or salt, because the crock pot does the work for you – leaving it for 5,6,7 hours, lets the ingredients bring the flavours out in each other.
To get the kidney beans ready, soak them overnight in 3 times the amount of water. Or quick soak them.

Cook the beans for 30 minutes before adding them to the slow cooker.

If you’ve never seen or heard of “ground round” this is the brand that I use: (You can find it where the tofu is kept in your grocery store.)

Cut the onions and tomatoes, and add to pot. Add kidney beans, tomato sauce and “ground round”. You can put a little hot water in the jar, close the the lid and shake to get the rest stuck on the sides.

Below is a picture of the chili after I put everything in: (I decided to add the tomato after this picture!)

I wanted to add this picture, just to show how different it looks after a couple hours (picture at top).
I really hope you like this recipe, and hopefully it’s good if you make it!

Check out Veggie Chili Fries! using this chili recipe.

Enjoy!

Share your thoughts!

