Beauty

Baking Soda Face & Body Cleanser

I know the title may seem odd, especially if you’ve never used baking soda for skin care. But it works! Baking soda isn’t just a natural cleaning agent, it is a natural exfoliant and cleanser for the skin. Baking soda can help deter body odour and smells and if you’re brave enough, can replace deodorant! There have been quite a few days that I’ll use the baking soda wash and didn’t need to use deodorant (although I really don’t use it anyways and realistically haven’t worn any since last summer, maybe longer.. but the point is that I didn’t need to use it!).

Face Mask: If you just want enough for the face, the amounts below is usually what I’ll use.
· 1-2 tsp. baking soda
· water, enough to make a paste

Body Cleanser: I try to make enough that there’s no leftovers (not sure how it would keep), and the amounts below seem to work well for the body.
· 1/4 – 1/3 cup baking soda, a little more or less
· water, enough to make a paste

Mix baking soda with water, you’ll have to use your judgement for a consistency that works for you. I usually don’t measure I just add the two ingredients until it comes out like a paste. You could also add any essential oils if you want.

I normally use this wash in the shower, just to be sure it all gets rinsed off – it can be hard to get everything if you’re washing your face quickly over the sink. This wash can be used every day, but if you have sensitive skin, I would only use on the face once a week.

After I use this wash, it makes my skin feel so clean and fresh, but also rejuvenated and smooth. I really like using natural skin care, but this wash is one of my favourites, mainly because of the smell factor. I smell just as clean when I get home from work as I do when I go out the door in the morning.

4 thoughts on “Baking Soda Face & Body Cleanser

Share your thoughts!

