Food

Vegan Brownies

I’ve finally made some vegan brownies that turned out! I really didn’t know if I could make an egg-less (and tofu-less) good brownie. But these really did turn out great!

Note: I only really measured the flour and water (kind of) so I’ll give estimated amounts.

Vegan Brownies

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 tsp.-1 tbsp. baking soda
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder, plus a little more if you want
  • 1/3 cup raw or beet sugar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, probably a little less than a full 1/4 cup
  • 1 tsp.-1 tbsp. vanilla extract

Preheat oven 350 F.

I blended the flour and water together to make a “dough” texture. Then I added the baking soda, cocoa powder and sugar. Add the water, vegetable oil and coconut oil. Stir until desired consistency. Mine was still pretty dough-y, so I add water and vegetable oil a little at a time. I also added a bit more cocoa powder to get a richer colour. The texture you want is smooth but takes a little while to pour out of the bowl, if you turn it upside down.

I only had enough to coat the bottom of a loaf pan, maybe 2 inches thick. I put in the oven for about 20-22 minutes (the timer hand was just past 20 minutes), and I kind of forgot about it until the timer went off. But it came out perfect! I was going to leave it in the pan but I took it out and placed on a plate.

RELATED:

4 thoughts on “Vegan Brownies

Share your thoughts!

