Beauty

Budget-Friendly Shampoos (Store-Bought & Natural)

Depending on which shampoo you use, it can be hard to maneuver through the hundreds of brands to find a natural, budget-friendly and sulfate-free shampoo that actually works. This post (in which the idea was practically handed to me – thank you Bhavika!) has a list of shampoos that are budget-friendly and sulfate-free and a few natural shampoos and cleansers as well.

For the past 2 years or so, I have been experimenting with natural alternatives to store-bought beauty products and cleaning supplies. Everything has been a smooth transition so far and every natural remedy and recipe has worked amazingly well, except a natural shampoo that actually works! That is the one item that I still can’t commit to leaving behind. My hair is naturally oily so anytime I stop using shampoo, I immediately get greasy hair. (Although I know the transition is supposed to be messy, I really should just stick with it!) I do try to keep the cost down though, by only shampooing every other day and trying to sneak in baking soda and apple cider vinegar when I can.

Below is a list of both store bought and natural ideas for saving money when it comes to cleansing your hair.

Live Clean Shampoo $6.97 per 350ml – The first one I decided to start with is the one I use, mainly because it is relatively budget-friendly (range for about $5.97-$8.97, depending on where you go – compared to 100% Pure that’s about $23) for being a natural and animal friendly company. Plus all their shampoos are sulfate-free.

Kiss My Face $7.97 – $16.97 per 325ml – 532ml – Natural shampoos that are all sulfate-free. This company is also eco-friendly!

Lush $9.95 – $29.95 per 330ml – I was reluctant to include this brand in this list, mainly because they aren’t that budget-friendly, but also because a lot of their shampoos aren’t sulfate-free (though there are some that are). This company also uses natural ingredients. 

Organix $7.99 per 385ml – All shampoos are sulfate-free and the company does not test on animals. This brand also promotes natural ingredients and is pretty cheap.

Trader Joes $3.99 per 473ml – Although I don’t believe you can get this in Canada, it is available online and depending on shipping, can be fairly cheap. Natural ingredients and sulfate-free.

·  ·  ·  ·  ·  ·

Apple Cider Vinegar This ingredient seems like a random substance to douse your hair in, but apple cider vinegar can do wonders for the hair and really help to moisturise. Mix 1 tbsp. apple cider vinegar + 1 cup of water, pour onto hair and rinse. If you have greasy roots, try to use mostly on ends. Or only use a few times a week. (Although best used with the baking soda cleanser below as a “conditioner”, you could still use the above ratio for regular cleansing.)

Baking Soda Cleanser  – Mix baking soda with water (about 1 tbsp. baking soda + 1 cup of water) and massage into scalp and rinse for clean and shiny hair. This recipe will make your hair feel surprisingly clean. *You may need to tweak this recipe for the perfect balance.

Coconut Milk & Castile Soap  – Mix the 2 ingredients together (1/4 coconut milk + 1/3 cup castile soap) and massage into scalp and hair in shower and rinse. View full recipe here (this recipe has other ingredients, but I like keeping things relatively simple).

There are going to be many other brands and recipes but these are the brands or recipes that I’ve tried or have high reviews.

Good luck!

Image sources: // 1 //

5 thoughts on “Budget-Friendly Shampoos (Store-Bought & Natural)

  1. Hello,

    Firstly I just wanted to say that I’m very impressed with your blog. It’s a great mix of information ethical approaches to food, beauty & just living generally!

    I was just wondering about your inclusion of Burt’s Bees (owned by Clorox) and Tresemme (owned by Unilever)? The other primary appeal for me was that you don’t endorse any brand whose parent company tests on animals.

    Thanks again – great blog!

    Cassandra

    Like

    • Thank you very much, I really appreciate it!

      This post was actually suggested to me for sulfate-free shampoos, that were also relatively budget-friendly. Knowing that there aren’t many all-natural, sulfate-free, cheap shampoos, I reluctantly ventured into other brands.

      I was incredibly hesitant to add Tresemme, among others, onto the list because I personally don’t buy any “mainstream” brands and really can’t stand when a company like Burt’s Bees (or The Body Shop) sell out to larger companies that endorse animal testing. The fact that this post wasn’t necessarily for cruelty-free brands but for cheaper, sulfate-free shampoos really overrode my reluctance.

      Looking back now however, I should not have added certain brands onto this list. This blog is mostly vegan and I should not endorse something I would never buy for myself. I have mentioned other brands that are not animal friendly (Yves Veggie Cuisine, for example). I will be correcting these flaws as I do want this blog to be a reflection of an animal friendly and cruelty-free lifestyle.

      Thank you for commenting and I apologize for my late reply,
      Stephanie 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts!

