Eco-friendly

3 Natural Cleaning Products (to Replace the Rest)

Spending money on different bath and body products is one thing, going through all the different types of cleaning products can be a nightmare! You want something that is going to be safe for your family, free of harsh chemicals and something that actually works.

I used to buy “green” cleaning products, but even they have a lot of chemicals in them and a surprisingly high number of companies test on animals. Going natural really was the easiest, healthiest and most budget-friendly thing I could do regarding cleaning products.

Now, I use 3 main cleaning products.

Baking Soda – Baking soda is a magic cleaner; you can use this stuff for anything. Rather than re-iterating myself here, check out this post for different ways to clean with baking soda.

 Ideas For Cleaning With Baking Soda

Lemons/ Lemon Juice – Lemons are anti-bacterial but also acidic, so they can help with tougher messes and are great for cleaning floors. I also mix lemon juice with vinegar, baking soda, sugar/sea salt (for tougher messes) and anything else I have on hand that may work. They also add a pleasant and clean smell without all the extra chemicals. 

*An idea for lemon/orange (or any citrus) rinds is to place them in a jar (mason or washed out pickle/jam jar) of vinegar. Leave for about 2-4 weeks (the longer the better) and the result is a wonderful cleaning agent that smells great.

DIY Citrus All-Purpose Cleaner

VinegarPerfect addition to the cleaning kit, vinegar is anti-bacterial as well and perfect to clean and disinfect floors, bathroom tubs, sinks, toilets, microwaves, among other things. It’s also extremely economical and a jug of vinegar can last a while. The smell also doesn’t last – once it’s rinsed you won’t smell it at all (or you could always add lemon juice).You could either douse a cloth or sponge with it or use a spray bottle to clean. Either way you’re saving money and the environment.

DIY Lime Scrub Cleanser

These are the main ingredients I use when cleaning, mainly because they are so cheap, work amazingly well and are so easy to have on hand. All 3 products also mix really well with each other; lemons to overpower the vinegar smell and add an acidic component and vinegar to disinfect. They are amazing substitutes for all the cleaning supplies I used to buy, I know this is one area I will never go back to using store-bought products.

Because this is a post about saving money and being economical, I’ll just add this in. I used to use sponges all the time, then throw them out and repeat. Now I’ll buy (or crochet because I’m learning that now!) a washcloth that can be thrown into the wash and be reused rather than thrown in the trash. I’ve saved a bit of money (sponges are really only a few dollars) but I’ve helped the environment out more by not throwing out a package of ten sponges every 2 or so months.

3 thoughts on “3 Natural Cleaning Products (to Replace the Rest)

  1. Thank you for sharing your diy tips for cleansing…I am passionate with eco friendly things!!! I am doing almost the same as you but in the cosmetic field…I will be back on your blog and will follow. Congrats
    France

    Like

Share your thoughts!

