Food

Simple Shepherd’s Pie (Vegan)

While trying to be budget-friendly, use up the food we currently have (with the discovery of potatoes hiding in the cupboard!) and come up with a creative dinner, we decided on Shepherd’s Pie. A welcome change from our habitual pasta and veggies.

I have made this dish before, but with my mom’s recipe, which I have misplaced.. so I relied on Google to bring me a sufficient recipe. Hint: Google failed! Not entirely, but mostly. I got an idea for the temperature and that there should be a liquid mixed with your base but every recipe I found for a ‘vegan’ Shepherd’s Pie, had a plethora of extra ingredients that we definitely didn’t have or  didn’t care to have in the meal. I really wanted to find a simple recipe for the ease and the lack of ingredients we had.

Ingredients:
· 1 pkg Yves ground round
· 1 onion
· 1 cup corn
· 2 cups pureed tomatoes
· 4-5 potatoes

Because I didn’t have any milk or vegetable broth (like most recipes suggested) I decided to blend some tomatoes for the liquid. 

Preheat oven 400 F.

Heat through onions, ground round and add the tomato puree.

Meanwhile, peel and cook your potatoes and mash. (I didn’t have any milk so they were a little dry, if you want, you can always add about 1/4 cup soy milk to soften.)

Before assembling in casserole dish, add corn to ground round. After spreading the ground over the bottom of your pan, spread the mashed potatoes. You can mix cheese with your potatoes as well if you like (you can find good vegan cheese that still melts like the real stuff).

Because everything was previously cooked, you can use your judgement here. I only cooked mine for about 20-25 minutes. I didn’t really keep track, I just checked it periodically and it really didn’t take that long at all.

Thanks for reading, enjoy your day!

2 thoughts on “Simple Shepherd’s Pie (Vegan)

Share your thoughts!

